The Brew Review

March 1, 2006

Birra Moretti

Filed under: Oddballs — brewreview @ 8:42 pm

moretti.jpg

Nationality: Oddballs (Italian, Heineken Italia, that is)

Reviewed by: Oy Vey

Tastes like: Murder She Wrote or 60 Minutes*

I thought this beer would either be very bad or very good. It should be an emotional beer, right? It’s Italian! I was looking forward to something different.**

This was the most boring beer I’ve ever tasted. I could brush my teeth with this beer. I thought the dude with the Feds moustache and fedora would lend itself to some intrigue and mystery, but alas…none of it. It was as dull and predictable as a K-car. “Just the facts, ma’am.” This beer has so little soul that I found myself tapping my foot to 25 or 6 to 4.

*Editorial decision.

**When GG saw the bottle, she said “Oh! The Coors Light of Italy!” Of course! I confess I spent more of my time smoking crappy weed rather than drinking crappy beer in college. Just a preference, not a judgment. So, I’m embarrassed to admit I had never heard of such a thing as Moretti and was hopeful it was going to be a real adventure. Tant pis.

***Note from GG – no need to be embarrassed!  I only know it b/c my sister and I drank it at Fiesole because it was cheapo.  Our kind came in cans, though.

Reviewed at: Coco’s

1 Comment »

  1. For our next course we opted to share two cheese plates with beer pairings for the next course. We had three cheeses, Dante, Tete de Moine, Monte Enebro paired with Evolution Lucky 7, Flying Dog Wildeman, Leroy Paulus. All three cheeses were excellent (as were the beers) but the middle cheese, the Tete de Moine, really caught our attention. The waitress explained to us that the cheese has a very hard rind, so the kitchen shaves the cheese to make it edible, giving it that interesting “cauliflower” like appearance!

    Comment by Erich Maxwell — January 31, 2013 @ 11:13 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

